U.S. Presidents (and one Vice President) Who Have Received Nobel Peace Prizes

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded to those individuals who have “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

4 U.S. presidents and 1 U.S. vice president have received the Nobel Peace Prize.

(1) In 1906, President Theodore Roosevelt received the prize for his work surrounding the Treaty of Portsmouth, which ended the Russo-Japanese War.

(2) In 1920, President Woodrow Wilson received the prize for his efforts in ending the WWI and in helping create the League of Nations.

(3) In 2002, President Jimmy Carter received the prize for his efforts in finding “peaceful solutions to international conflicts, advancing democracy and human rights, and promoting economic and social development.”

(4) In 2009, President Barack Obama received the prize for his efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation.

(5) In 2007, Vice President Al Gore received the prize for his efforts to obtain and spread knowledge about climate change.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s